Chinese Medicine Regulatory Office

Analysis of Cornu Cervi Pantotrichum by DNA Method as a Complementary Approach


Traditionally, macroscopic and microscopic methods have been used as routine approaches for the identification Chinese Materia Medica (CMM). By examining the morphological and tissue characteristics of CMM, they can be identified unequivocally. In recent years, there has been a growing interest in the development of DNA-based methods as a complementary approach, especially for discrimination of closely related species. DNA-based testing methods and technical guidance have been published by international authorities such as The Pharmacopoeia of the People’s Republic of China, U.S. Pharmacopeia and British Pharmacopoeia.

This research project aims at developing DNA-based testing methods for the identification of animal-derived CMM - Cornu Cervi Pantotrichum. This project is divided into two parts. In the first part, a screening method for differentiation of two genuine deer species of Cervi Cornu Pantotrichum, i.e. Cervus nippon Temminck and Cervus elaphus Linnaeus, from each other was developed and validated. By adopting specific-polymerase chain reaction (specific-PCR) technique, the procedure is relatively simple, suitable for rapid screening of decoction pieces of Cervi Cornu Pantotrichum.


Features

  • A validated screening method;*
  • Simple operation without DNA sequencing analysis;
  • Relatively low-cost test.


In the second part, DNA barcoding testing method for identification of animal-derived CMM and quality control system were developed and validated in accordance with the requirements of the Hong Kong Laboratory Accreditation Program. The generation of reference DNA barcode sequences of Cornu Cervi Pantotrichum, i.e. C. nippon and C. elaphus was completed in order to provide more comprehensive reference data for identification.


Features

  • A validated testing method;
  • According to the requirements of Hong Kong Laboratory Accreditation Program to conduct method validation;
  • Provide reference sequences of 3 DNA barcodes.

We hope that the developed DNA-based testing methods and quality control system can complement the current testing methods for identification of Cornu Cervi Pantotrichum, which help CM sectors to distinguish unscrupulous suppliers and avoid buying and selling of problematic products, protect their brand images and interests, and effectively solve the difficulties encountered by CM sectors in discriminating the authenticity of the products.


Testing methods
(English version only)


Reference DNA Sequence Library for Chinese Materia Medica


*The screening method intends to provide a rapid screening of decoction pieces of Cornu Cervi Pantotrichum. It is the user’s responsibility to assess the suitability for other sample types when adopting this method. When further confirmation of the identity of tested sample is required, other testing methods subject to the testing purpose, such as DNA barcoding for identification of animal-derived CMM, may be employed as a complement.

衞生署中醫藥規管辦公室

以DNA技術作為鑒別鹿茸的互補檢測方法


傳統上,性狀及顯微鑒別是中藥材鑒別的常用手段,透過觀察藥材的外形和組織特徵,從而明確判斷其身份。近年,開發DNA方法作為互補手段漸受關注,尤其應用於區分近緣物種之上。國際權威機構亦公佈了相關DNA測試方法和技術指引,例如中華人民共和國藥典、美國藥典和英國藥典。

此研究計劃旨在開發鑒別動物類藥材 – 鹿茸的脫氧核糖核酸(DNA)方法。項目分為兩部分。第一部分,我們建立及確認一種採用特異性-聚合酶鏈式反應技術,區分鹿茸飲片正品品種梅花鹿(Cervus nippon Temminck)和馬鹿(Cervus elaphus Linnaeus)的篩選方法,此方法操作流程較簡單,適合用於快速篩選鹿茸飲片。


特點

  • 經驗證的篩選方法;*
  • 操作較易無需進行DNA測序;
  • 測試成本較低。


第二部份,我們根據香港實驗所認可計劃的要求進行方法學考察,建立及確認動物類藥材的DNA條形碼檢測法及品質控制系統。已完成兩個鹿茸正品品種的參考DNA條形碼序列,為鑒別鹿茸提供更全面的參考依據。


特點

  • 經驗證的測試方法;
  • 根據香港實驗所認可計劃的要求進行方法學考察;
  • 提供3個參考DNA條形碼序列。


我們希望所開發的DNA檢測方法及品質控制系統,能與現行鹿茸鑒別法互補不足,讓業界識別及避免買賣貨源有問題的產品,保障業界聲譽和利益,切實地解決業界面對難辨貨源真偽的難題。


測試方法
(只提供英文版本)


參考DNA序列庫



*此方法旨在提供一種鹿茸飲片的篩選方法。採用前,使用者有責任評估受測樣品的種類是否適用於本方法。當需要進一步確認樣品身份,可按檢測目的採用其他鑒別方法作為互補,例如鑒別動物類藥材的DNA條形碼檢測法。